The perfect Internet TV combination so you can dump cable – Part 3

As I mentioned in my earlier posts and YouTube video, PlayonTV and Hulu Plus basically replaces your cable TV provider. What do you need to do to get on this bandwagon? Easy,

  1. Go to http://www.playon.tv and buy their ultimate package for less than $60, It comes with over 90 cable channels and DVR software. You pay only once, no monthly fees.
  2. Go to http://www.hulu.com/plus and sign up for Hulu Plus, yes it costs $7.99 a month but that is better than your cable bill, isn’t it?
  3. Take any PC you have, either a desktop or laptop;
  4. Make sure it has an HDMI output. If not buy one for your desktop for $50, sorry older laptops can’t be upgraded
  5. Connect the HDMI cable to the PC and TV
  6. Connect a Roku box up (takes 5 minutes)
  7. Go to the Roku website register and select two channels (which will automatically download the ROku device in your house
  8. Select the PlayonTV channel and watch over 90 cable channels with DVR capability (your media server and PlayonTV software)
  9. Select the Hulu Plus channel and watch all your regular TV shows (one day after they are broadcast.

You can do all this in a few hours. In the end, you pay $7.99 a month for Hulu Plus and get free programming for life from PlayonTV. That wasn’t too hard now was it?

Leave a comment and let me know.

Bill
home media guy
33 thoughts on “The perfect Internet TV combination so you can dump cable – Part 3

  1. Nice and concise.
    You could also look into XBMC+3rd party add-ons and PLex + 3rd party add-ons.
    A bit more complex but very versatile.

  2. You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation but
    I in finding this topic to be actually one thing that I think I’d
    by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely
    wide for me. I am looking forward for your subsequent submit, I will try to get the dangle of it!

  3. you’re actually a just right webmaster. The web site loading speed is amazing.
    It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick.
    Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a wonderful job
    on this topic!

  4. You are so interesting! I do not suppose I have read something like that
    before. So great to discover somebody with some genuine thoughts
    on this topic. Really.. thank you for starting this up.

    This web site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a little
    originality!

  5. What i don’t realize is if truth be told how you are no longer actually a lot more well-favored than you might be right now.
    You’re so intelligent. You recognize therefore significantly in the case of this topic, made
    me individually imagine it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women are not fascinated except it is one thing to do with Lady gaga!
    Your individual stuffs great. All the time deal with it up!

  6. I am extremely impressed together with your writing abilities and also with the
    structure for your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to peer a great weblog like this one today..

  7. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  8. I’ve been browsing online greater than three hours lately, yet
    I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s pretty value enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the web might be a lot more helpful than ever
    before.

  9. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off
    the screen in Ie. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I
    thought I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though!
    Hope you get the issue solved soon. Thanks

    1. Thanks for the comment. I get this comment occasionally and think it might be related to the browser people use or the browser version. I am continuing to look into the situation. Thanks.

  10. I jst liқe the elpful information you supply to yоu articles.
    I’ll bookmark our blog and check once more here frequently.
    I am slightly ure I’ll be informed many new
    stuff righnt rigɦt hеre! Good luck for the following!

  11. Right here is the right web site for anybody who wishes to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not
    that I really will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a new
    spin on a topic which has been written about for decades.
    Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  12. What’s up every one, here every person is sharing such knowledge, therefore it’s pleasant to read this weblog, and I used to go to see this blog daily.

  13. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it
    up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any solutions to help protect against content from being ripped
    off? I’d truly appreciate it.

  14. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many
    months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  15. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering issues with your website.

    It looks like some of the text within your posts are running off
    the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is
    happening to them too? This could be a problem with my
    web browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Appreciate it

    1. I have received this comment before. I use the template provided on the WordPress site. I have no control over the pagination or type size. I keep looking for an answer. Thanks for your comment.

  16. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well
    written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it aand come back to
    read more of your useful information. Thanks for thee post.
    I will definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

