International Programming & Hulu “FREE” on your TV with no computer!

Posted: November 6, 2014 in Home Media
Tags: , , ,

I have tried a number of apps and hardware solutions to get my free HULU content on my TV. For those of you who don’t know. There is a free version of HULU out there. The problem is that unless you have a computer, Amazon Fire (HDMI connection to your TV), or Playon.tv, you are out of luck when it comes to getting the free HULU content on to your TV. That is until Roku recently added their mirroring feature on the Roku 3 box for FREE! I love those guys.

It is so easy it’s hard.

  1. Just download the Roku app (IOS & Android) to your smartphone or tablet. Make sure the mirroring feature is turned on in your Roku box (under settings) and BAM! You are ready.
  2. Next use your smartphone or tablet to go to the www.HULU.com website and pick the shows you saved when you signed up and selected the shows that interested you. Click on the show to start and then click on the share button. You will see the Roku device listed and then select it.

That’s it. It works.

For international programming, I downloaded a small app called HOLA (www.hola.org). This app gives you VPN capability to your smartphone or tablet. You can select certain apps to VPN from different countries, thus eliminating geo-locking of certain foreign content. I have a couple of browsers loaded on my tablet and one of them is set with HOLA to run from France. I use this browser to mirror my French content to my Roku box.

I can’t write anymore because that’s all there is to it. Enjoy.

By the way. I have a boost mobile smartphone I use as a remote and mirroring/casting device. I bought it on craigslist for $20 and leave it on the coffee table so I can use my regular smartphone or tablet for other things.

Homemediaguy

If you like my blog, click on the “follow” button for regular updates

Stay tuned for my new YouTube channel coming soon.

Leave a Reply

